You are here

NIAS Staff

Director

Duncan McCargo , Director
Tel: (+45) 3532 4628
Email: duncan@nias.ku.dk
Chunrong Liu , Executive Vice Director Fudan-European Centre for China Studies
Tel: +45 3532 9522
Email: chunrong.liu@nias.ku.dk
Area of responsibility

Managing the Fudan-European Centre for China Studies and China-relevant issues

Administration

Thea Kelsey , Student Assistant
Tel: (+45) 3532 9500
Email: cokelsey@nias.ku.dk
Area of responsibility

Administration, NIAS SUPRA Programme, NIAS LINC

Kasper Ørntoft Thor , Executive Assistant, Fudan-European Centre for China Studies
Tel: (+45) 3532 9522
Email: kth@nias.ku.dk
Area of responsibility

Project coordination/communication, the Fudan-European Centre for China Studies

Marie Yoshida , ADI Project Coordinator
Tel: (+45) 3532 9521
Email: marie.yoshida@nias.ku.dk
Area of responsibility

Coordinates the Asian Dynamics Initiative - ADI.

Amanda Lybke Rasmussen , Student Assistant
Tel: (+45) 3532 9500
Email: amanda.lybke.rasmussen@nias.ku.dk
Area of responsibility

Administration, NIAS SUPRA Programme, NIAS LINC

Fakhrul Islam , IT Support
Tel: (+45) 3532 9500
Email: mfi@nias.ku.dk
Area of responsibility

Development of Asiaportal website and NIAS Library IT infrastructure.

Anna Brueckner Johansen , Student Assistant
Tel: (+45) 3532 9500
Email: annabj@nias.ku.dk
Area of responsibility

Administration, NIAS SUPRA Programme, NIAS LINC

Library & Information Centre

Inga-Lill Blomkvist , Librarian and Web- coordinator
Tel: (+45) 3532 9512
Email: ilb@nias.ku.dk
Area of responsibility

NIAS Digital Library as presented on the AsiaPortal, including Asia in Focus. Administrator/coordinator of NNC Library Group and the NNC cooperation on electronic resources as well as general NIAS library and NIAS web issues.

NIAS Press

Gerald Jackson , Editor-in-Chief
Tel: (+45) 3532 9503
Email: gerald@nias.ku.dk
Area of responsibility
Editor-in-chief of NIAS Press.
David Stuligross , Desk Editor
Tel: (+45) 3532 9501
Email: david_stuligross@yahoo.com

Researchers

Petra Desatová , Post Doc Researcher
Tel: (+45) 3532 9500
Email: petra@nias.ku.dk
Research areas

Nation branding, political branding/marketing, governance, forms and techniques of state power, authoritarianism and its resilience, elections and electoral violence, nationalism, national identity

Andreas Bøje Forsby , Post Doc Researcher
Tel: (+45) 61 777 111
Email: abf@nias.ku.dk
Research areas

China's foreign and security policy; China’s identity and emotional assertiveness; US-China strategic rivalry; Danish-Chinese relations; Nordic-China relations; The South China Sea; The Korean Peni

Affiliated Researchers

Edyta Roszko , Senior Researcher
Tel: (+45) 3532 9500
Email: rxk841@hum.ku.dk
Research areas

Edyta’s research takes a broader perspective on maritime disputes, fisheries and militia in relation to and beyond territorially bounded states and economic and security interests.

Anyarat Chattharakul , Dr.
Tel: +316 2133 5992
Email: achattharakul@gmail.com
Research areas

Vote-canvassing networks, electoral campaigning, democratisation, power politics, vote-buying, patron-client relationships, Thailand.

Alexandra Kent , Senior Researcher, Dr.
Tel: (+46) 739149877
Email: alixkent@yahoo.co.uk
Research areas

Cambodia, religion, healing, politics, conflict management, justice

Cecilia Milwertz , Senior Researcher
Tel: (+45) 3532 9534
Email: milwertz@nias.ku.dk
Research areas

Encounters between Asia and the Nordic countries/Europe, gender, non-governmenta

Ida Nicolaisen , Senior Researcher
Tel: (+45) 3532 9533
Email: nicolaisen@nias.ku.dk
Research areas

Cultural anthropology, Indigenous peoples, Socio-economic development, Human rights
 Regional focus: Southeast Asia & West Africa.

Stig Toft Madsen , Fil.Dr, Senior Research Fellow
Tel: (+45) 22 80 56 11
Email: Stig.Toft.Madsen@nias.ku.dk; Stigtm49@gmail.com
Research areas

India, South Asia, the Nordic countries, Eurasia

 

Guest Researchers

Gitte Marianne Hansen , Guest Researcher
Tel: (+45) 35320 9500
Email: gitte.marianne.hansen@gmail.com
Research areas

Japan, Japanese culture, literature, manga, anime, film, contemporary Japanese society, Murakami Haruki, Miyazaki Hayao, gender, character construction theory.

Affiliated PhD Students

Lisa Lindkvist Zhang , Associated PhD Student
Tel: +45 42320120 / +49 15773761466
Email: lisa.zhang@asia-europe.uni-heidelberg.de
Research areas

Modern China, Late Qing and Republican Intellectual History, Indian Philosophy, Translation.

Saba Joshi , Associated PhD Student
Tel: (+45) 3532 9500
Email: saba.joshi@graduateinstitute.ch
Research areas

My PhD project focuses on trajectories of peasant resistance to land acquisitions in north-east Cambodia.

Ma Yi , Associated PhD Student
Tel: +45 3532 9500
Email: yima2015@hotmail.com
Research areas

Soft law governance in EU and China

Affiliated Students

Sabrina Nybo , Affiliated Workplace Student
Tel: (+45) 3532 9500
Email: jvf865@alumni.ku.dk
Research areas

MA Thesis on: The Hong Kong riots and the PRC's identity construction before and during the riots.

Amanda Brødsgaard , Affiliated Workplace Student
Tel: (+45) 3532 9500
Email: sjt263@alumni.ku.dk
Research areas

Research areas: Japanese robotics and AI, Science and Technology Studies and Human-Robot Interaction (HRI)